

VOTING MEMBERS

EX-OFFICIO

NOTES OF THE ANNUAL REVIEW SESSION HELD ON

DEPUTY MEMBERS

Joanna Bullingham, Stonehouse VoYS

Α

14.09.2009

Venue: Stroud Youth Centre

YOUTH COUNCIL MEMBERSHIP:

Thomas Lydon, Marling**	Р	Kamila Gebicka, Cam & Dursley YF	Р
Rob Price, Marling	Р	Joe Clift, Vale of Berkeley	Α
Rebekah Batting, Cam & Dursley YF	Р	Chantelle Martin, Vale of Berkeley	Α
Jess Howell, Cam & Dursley YF	Р	Harry Bush, Marling	Ар
Liam Baker, Thomas Keble	Α	Harry Shankar, Marling	Ap
Cameron Patterson, Thomas Keble	Α	Alex Buckley, Thomas Keble	Α
El Linsell, Stroud High	Р	Kit Powell, Thomas Keble	Ар
Rosie Dickinson, Stroud High	Р	Cerys Bradley, Stroud High	Ap
Jack Young, Archway	Α	Isobel Holley, Stroud High	P
Fran Ballinger, Archway	Α	Kieran Chadwick, Archway	Р
Hilary Dixon, Katharine Lady Berkeley's	Р	Kurtis Herbert, Archway	Α
Lindsey Driver, Vale of Berkeley	Р	Isobel Tyrrell, Minchinhampton YC	Р
Frank Gillison, Vale of Berkelev	αA	Jodie Nixon, Minchinhampton YC	Α

Frank Gillison, Vale of Berkeley
Ap
Andrew Burbidge, Nailsworth YF
Connor Walker, Stonehouse VoYS
Annie Pickering, Stonehouse VoYS
Pegan Roberts, Minchinhampton YC
Amy Neason, Minchinhampton YC
Ashley Skerton, Stroud College*
Rudi Blue Morgan, Stroud College
P

CO-OPTIONS

Rose Horton, Stroud High	Α
Freddie Whittaker, Archway	Α
Luke Smith, Berkeley	Α
Matt Stump, Berkeley	Α
Natalie Smith, Archway	Α
Emma Mears, Cam & Dursley YF	Α
Eleanor Cairns, Thomas Keble	Α
Harriet Dudbridge, Katharine Lady Berkeley's	Α
Alex Jones	Α

** = Chair * = Vice-Chair P = present A = absent Ap = apology for absence given

OTHERS PRESENT

Steve Miles, Senior Hear By Right Youth Officer (SDC) Phil Sullivan, Head of Service for Community Safety (SDC)

Welcome & Apologies

The Chair welcomed members to Stroud Youth Centre, for the Annual Review session, he highlighted that although this was due to be an informal session for members, it had emerged that some formal business needed to be done.

Apologies were received from; Frank Gillison, Andrew Burbidge, Megan Roberts, Ashley Skerten, Harry Bush, Harry Shankar, Kit Powell and Cerys Bradley.

Minutes of the last meeting - 13 July 2009

Minutes were agreed to be accurate record of what took place.

Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

Youth Initiative Fund & Talented Young Sports Achievers Grant Programme

It had been brought to the attention of members, that to secure the long term future of a dedicated professional youth worker in which to facilitate youth participation for Stroud District Council (SDC) and manage the function of Stroud District Youth Council (SDYC), core funding needed to be found within the SDC budget.

Members discussed the matter with Phil Sullivan, Head of Service for Community Safety at SDC, and agreed to suspend the Youth Initiative Fund and Talented Young Sports Achievers Grant Programme in which to enable core funding to be reallocated to support the role of Senior Hear by Right Youth Officer. The re-allocation of £10,000 would enable the post to become permanent and result in the removal of the Youth Council's fund-granting operation undertaken by the Youth Cabinet.

The professional youth work role, occupied by Steve Miles, will then evolve on a long term basis. It was unanimously accepted that the Youth Council would not be where it is today without the work delivered by this post. The move to make the role a permanent one would inevitably mean the Youth Council will develop further and increase the capacity of SDC to deliver youth participation.

The long-term implications of this decision are infinite for the Youth Council as a grant giving body. This means that the last period for distributing funds from YIF/TYSA will be the period ending 31st December 2009, from which point the Youth Cabinet can re-focus on other areas of work.

It was agreed that Tom would write a short report and forward it to Phil Sullivan, to relay this decision to SDC. The formal decision by SDC is expected in November.

Annual Review 2009

An interactive workshop session was undertaken. The key outcomes will be presented at the Annual General Meeting and a glossy document will be produced similar to last year's version.

The Chair thanked members for attending and for their huge efforts over the past year.

The next meeting will be the Annual General Meeting and will be held on Wednesday 28 October 2009 at Speech House Hotel, Forest of Dean